God’s Sense of Humor, by Stephen

Who says God does not have a sense of humor?  Here we are, six years after our youngest daughter was born.  I thought we were well on our way in the game of parenthood.  The “empty nest” was almost in sight.  I was done with diapers, strollers, crying in the middle of the night.  I was enjoying not being woken up by feedings and cleaning up vomit.  Now, after I had my garage sale to sell all of that baby stuff, I find myself back at the starting line.  If I had just held on to the swing and car seat… I knew I should not have given away the stroller and crib.  How come the smallest kid in the family always has the most stuff?

Mary, feeling happy she won't be the littlest anymore!

Mary, feeling happy she won’t be the littlest anymore!

Don’t get me wrong, I am very excited to have a baby in the house again, but you dads understand me.  NOW I HAVE TO GET ALL THAT STUFF AGAIN!!!!  I am already finding myself looking for deals in the newspaper for baby stuff.  It just goes to show you that God’s plans are NOT our plans.

I am so excited that I listened to God voice and am on this journey to adopt.  He is already blessing us.  A friend has stepped forward and given us a car seat and stroller, and they are much better then the car seat and stroller we used to have.  As I sometimes find myself thinking about what I want to do, I have learned that I need to step back and remember that it is not about me.  The plans are in God’s hands not mine.  And I’m so glad they are.

2 thoughts on “God’s Sense of Humor, by Stephen

  1. Can’t believe you passed us all the baby stuff and now we are in the place to pass it all back- crazy! Never saw that coming, that’s for sure

  2. Pingback: All That We Need- And More | There's Always Room

Leave a Reply

