Feeling Torn

Well, we are now officially waiting for our TA (travel approval)! On Tuesday, December 18, our Article 5 was issued. I still don’t really know what the Article 5 is, but I do know that it puts us one step closer to Peter. It also means that our wait for the TA began on the 18th. As I said in the last post, the TA wait takes 2-4 weeks, and we are of course hoping for two. After that, we’ll be off in no time!

Finding myself so close to going to get Peter and so close to Christmas at the same time, I’m feeling a tad torn. I love Christmas. I love this season of preparation. I love everything that we do to get ready to celebrate Christ’s birth. But this year, my heart isn’t completely in it. I am loving the celebrating that we are doing, but at the same time, I find myself in China holding Peter. Being completely “here” is a bit of a struggle. And yet, how fitting that this time of preparing our hearts and home for Peter comes when it does. We are yearning for him as we wait and prepare. And I find myself longing for Christ more deeply now than I have before during this season of anticipation.

So I am doing my best to celebrate this time of waiting and festivity.

Snowmen made by the girls

Snowmen made by the girls

IMG_2292

IMG_2290

IMG_2288

IMG_2297

Our traditional family cookie day!

Clothes for Peter (6-12 mo.)  It makes me happy to look at them.

Clothes for Peter (6-12 mo.) It makes me happy to look at them.

Mary loves our Santa kneeling by baby Jesus.  It plays "Away in a Manger".

Mary loves our Santa kneeling by baby Jesus. It plays “Away in a Manger”.

Hannah made gingerbread men on the day we got our tree.

Hannah made gingerbread men on the day we got our tree.

All the medicine and such for the trip.  You never know what might be needed!

All the medicine and such for the trip. You never know what might be needed!

Star ornaments made by the girls.  They're a lot harder to make than they look!

Star ornaments made by the girls. They’re a lot harder to make than they look!

Peter's first pair of shoes.   These make me really happy!

Peter’s first pair of shoes. These make me really happy!

IMG_2306

Merry, Merry Christmas!

2 thoughts on “Feeling Torn

  1. Peter will be so blessed to come into this precious family. You will all be blessed by him, too. I’m so excited for you all. XO Nancy PS. What great Christmas projects!!!!

Leave a Reply

