We’re Still Here!

As you can tell from the lack of writing on this blog, I still have a long way to go in the land of the internetters.  I want to put a new picture (with Peter in it) at the top of the blog and I want to make a new timeline on the side,  but I don’t know how and well, it just overwhelms me to think about it.  I would rather knit or bake cookies, or anything else.  So consequently, I’ve done nothing with the blog.  But I am knitting a really fun hat.  Today I decided to tackle the blog and I’ve just spent the last hour trying to figure out the timeline and header and such.  But guess what.  I still have no idea how to do it.  So I decided to just leave it and write a new post.

We are super excited about the new little person who is going to join our family.  Most likely, we will be adopting a boy and his name is going to be Nathan.  We really like to have a name and use it.  So when we refer to Nathan, that’s our new little guy.  And as for adoption progress, we’re moving right along at what feels like a snail’s pace.  We’re done with our physicals, TB tests, police checks, live scan fingerprints, financial checks, reference letters, home study and so on.  We just sent off our I800A (Application for Determination of Suitability to Adopt a Child from a Convention Country) to Homeland Security in Texas.  At this point in time, it is typically taking around 3 months to receive I800A approval, and that’s after another round of live scan fingerprints.  We will have a conference call with our adoption agency on Monday, and after that call we will be able to be considered when the agency matches children with families.  However, it is rare for a family to be matched with a child before their dossier is sent to China.  Our dossier will be sent in just as soon as we get our I800A approval (around the beginning of April most likely).

In the meantime, we loved celebrating Christmas with Peter this year!  Last year, we were so close to going to get him, but yet so far.  We were feeling awfully lonely for him at Christmas.  So it was fabulous to have him here with us this year!  We were so thankful to be together.

Getting our Christmas tree

Getting our Christmas tree

2 thoughts on “We’re Still Here!

Leave a Reply

